Showing posts from March, 2018

News of member Wal Wallis Walter D. Wallis, PhD, Presented with the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award by Marquis Who's Who In recognition of outstanding contributions to his profession and the Marquis Who's Who community, Walter D. Wallis, PhD, has been featured on the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement website. Please visit  for more information about this honor. About Marquis Who's Who : Since 1899, when A. N. Marquis printed the First Edition of Who's Who in America, Marquis Who's Who has chronicled the lives of the most accomplished individuals and innovators from every significant field of endeavor, including politics, business, medicine, law, education, art, religion and entertainment. Today, Who's Who in America remains an essential biographical source for thousands of researchers,

30th Cumberland Conference on Combinatorics, Graph Theory, and Computing May 19–20, 2018

30th Cumberland Conference on Combinatorics, Graph Theory, and Computing About  •  Register Online  •  Travel info  •  Hotels  •  Local info May 19–20, 2018 Contact email: About The 30th annual Cumberland Conference will be held May 19–20, 2018, at Marshall University. Contributed 20 minute talks in all areas of combinatorics, graph theory, and associated areas of computer science are welcome. Deadlines We strongly expect for travel support to be provided by the US National Science Foundation. Requests for travel support will be given priority if submitted by April 11, 2018. Abstracts should be submitted by April 25, 2018. There is no registration fee, but participants need to register, either online or at the conference, provided that we receive NSF support as expected. We encourage all participants to register online by May 9, 2018. Plenary Speakers Charlie Colbourn , Arizona State University Patricia Hersh , North Carolina State Univ

Call for Nominations

Call for Nominations Euler, Hall, Kirkman, and Stanton Medals for 2018 Honorary Fellowship Until 31 December 2018, nominations are invited for the 2018 Medals of the ICA, and for Honorary Fellowship in the ICA. Each medal nomination is to be made by at least two Fellows of the ICA; nominations for Honorary Fellowship are to be made by at least three Fellows of the ICA. Nominees must not be current members of the ICA Council, and must meet the eligibility requirements given below. Further, nominees for the Euler, Hall, and Kirkman medals must not be Honorary Fellows. Each nomination must include a complete curriculum vitae and publication list and a letter detailing the extent and importance of the nominee’s contributions, addressing the selection criteria. Quotes from nomination letters may be used without attribution in citations, which may appear in the Bulletin of the ICA. Euler Medals recognize distinguished lifetime career contributions to combinatorial research by

Minutes of the 3-7-18 Annual General Meeting

Doug Stinson called the meeting to order at 11:03 Welcomed the crowd (+/- 40 people, possibly over 50 distinct persons throughout the time) Shared agenda 1.      ICA executive council and council members a.      Read the names of the members of the executive and the titles. b.      Read the names of the full council, with terms. 2.      ICA office a.      Located at Boca Raton, FAU b.      The office has been here a year; Spyros is tracking membership and financial data (through FAU Foundation). c.      Folks wishing to become members should reach out to Spyros by email (icaoffice at d.      Donations and membership dues can be paid online through the FAU Foundation. 3.      Dues schedule a.      FTICA: $85/year, offering a two- and three-year option, lifetime at $1000. (retirees at 50%) b.      AFTICA: $65 c.      MTICA: $45 4.      ICA medals and Honorary Fellows a.      Charlie Colbourn (Chair), Jonathan Jedwab, Christine O’Keefe

Draft agenda for the annual meeting

11am, Wednesday March 7, 2018 in the Grand Palm Room of FAU, during the  49th Southeastern International Conference on  Combinatorics, Graph Theory & Computing 1.  President's report (a summary of what has been accomplished in  last year). 2.  Registrar's reports (membership resort and the financial summary). 3.  Report from the membership committee (present the report and allow  some time  for discussion). 4.  Approving new council members.  5.  Medal winners.  6.  Open discussion.